Turning a Page: Daffodils in November

It’s almost November, but to me it feels like Spring in Birmingham and I am exhilarated. Even from almost 1200 miles away with my eyes closed I can see unexpected daffodils and crocus sprouting up in new places and feel a brisk and refreshing breeze blowing  across my brow. Change and renewal are in the air in Birmingham. And for the first time in many years, I feel optimism, hope, and enthusiasm for the future of my home town where I was born and to which I devoted so much of my life trying (and often failing) to correct past wrongs and make it a better place. daffodils

And although I have not met him and may not ever have that honor or opportunity, I think I owe a debt of gratitude to Randall Woodfin for making me feel like the City and her people are in good hands and I can now safely turn loose of  my aspirations for, and frustrations with, Birmingham.

I thank this intelligent and dedicated young man for having the courage to enter the political arena and face the often negative consequences in a political climate where people are able to say anything they like about you without attribution, validation, or accountability. I thank him for having the stamina and endurance to enter the raucous arena and keep his head about him and his eyes on the goal while being  unfairly attacked and defamed. I thank him for inspiring hundreds of young people to get involved in the political process in an active way. I thank him for having a vision for the City and of how he could play a role in making that vision a reality.  I thank him for being willing to give up a safe and comfortable position in the community to take on a responsibility that can sometimes be overwhelming. I thank him for marching tirelessly with determination and boundless energy and enthusiasm to achieve what many believed was impossible. And I also thank him for having no delusions about the task before him. Being mayor of Birmingham, surrounded by hostile suburbs and a State government that seldom gives Birmingham credit for its important contributions to the State, won’t be easy.

Sure, it’s an honor to be mayor and it has lost of perks. ( I’ll bet he won’t use his credit card for a meal for at least three years! ) People will bow and scrape for no good reason and everyone will be his best friend, albeit some with their hands perpetually out. But it will also be the most exciting period in his life and a chance to make a real difference in the lives of thousands of residents who have often faced oppression, lack of opportunity, and despair. And there are no bounds to the inspiration and hope he will give the children of Birmingham and other young people throughout the state. It will also be an awesome and solemn responsibility.

With a new mayor and some new  Council members comes a chance to change to trajectory of Birmingham and aim for the stars. They don’t need advice from me or any other has-been politician. But here are some thoughts I want to share as they embark upon a new course to make Birmingham the City we all aspire for it to be.

  1. Use your best judgment in making decisions and ignore the phrase,” But this is how we’ve always done it”. Don’t be bound by past practice or the arcane rules for that matter. If the law or regulation is stupid that restrains your actions, then work to change it. Your way is likely to be as good or better than the way it was done in the past. Take chances.
  2. Embrace the history of the city, but always look to the future. The world is changing at nano-speed and the City cannot make progress by standing still and living in the past. Build on the city’s reputation as a beacon for human rights but make it also known around the world as a place of opportunity.
  3. Surround yourselves with fresh new faces wanting to prove themselves and how they can help make things better. There are no experts from the past who have expertise that cannot be obtained from others. Give young people who have not made millions from their political connections to city politicians, a chance. (This means all bond lawyers, advisors, lobbyists, and consultants to the City and her agencies who are rich because of their campaign contributions). Give those who have been shut out of City Hall a chance to make their own unique contributions to the City’s progress.
  4.  Don’t dwell on your mistakes. Learn from them and keep a’goin.
  5. Have confidence in yourself and the judgment of the people who trusted you when they elected you. Start with the premise that no matter how hard the task, you can do it. Nothing is impossible with hard work and a plan.
  6. Don’t ignore your critics. Learn from their criticism when it is fairly and honestly delivered. But don’t let ignorance and hidden agendas deter you from your own agenda.
  7. Be ambitious. There is nothing wrong with aspiring to higher office. It won’t be the worst thing that ever happened to Birmingham if a native son becomes governor or president once day. Aiming for greater things will make you do a better job in the one you currently have. Using the City as a stepping stone is okay as long as no one is treated as a doormat along the way.
  8. Respect others and yourself. Years ago, I gave my godchildren a signet ring like I had given John Kennedy, Jr. (See John and Caroline in Pictures by J. Spada) . I told them when they wore it to conduct themselves like nobility with impeccable manners and compassion and they would never go wrong.
  9. And last but perhaps most importantly, keep your faith in God and His plan for your future. But don’t think the path will always be paved with the feathers of angels. When I was first elected, I promised God I would always do the right things no matter what the personal consequences. There have been a lot of bruises and scars along the way. But all these years later, my conscience is clear, despite what is often said and written, because I have kept that promise.

 

Yes it’s a new day in Birmingham. One that has been long in coming. But I can hear the page turning as a new generation takes the helm and steers the City to great things with a better life for all who live there. Thank you Lord.

Leave a comment